The skeletal system is the structure by which all tissues are supported and or anchored, including the organs and tissues in the bones of the feet, legs, thighs, pelvis, spine and arms.  Your ribs and spine are also designed to protect the vital internal organs and nervous system tissue.

Parts Include: Cranium, Humerus, Ribs, Vertebrae, Femur


1. Cranium
The bone structure that protects brain tissue.

2. Clavicle
There are two clavicles that connect the upper breastbone or sternum to the shoulder region. They are located on the top of the chest cavity.

3. Humerus
The humerus is the long bone from the shoulder region to the elbow.

4. Ribs
There are twelve pairs of thin bones that originate from the spine and travel to the front and connect in the sternum or breastbone. Ribs are connected to each other with muscles, which can also expand.

5. Vertebrae
There are twenty-four moveable small bones that inter-articulate with each other creating a conduit containing and protecting the spinal cord.

6. Femur
The femur is the large bone from the hip to the knee.

7. Patella
The patella is a small piece of bone in front of the knee. On the top portion there is a large tendon that attaches to the patella, and from the lower patella to the leg bone called the tibia.

8. Tibia
The tibia is one of two bones that make up the leg; the tibia is the bone located on the inside. It is the larger of the two.

9. Fibula
The smaller outer bone in the leg, it is a thin bone that articulates
from the side of the tibia to the ankle.

Related Sites


Seen on